Posts Tagged ‘Mikael Åkerfeldt’

Photos by Greg Maki (more…)

Ester Segarra
Sweden’s master of horror, Bloodbath – notable for the inclusion of Katatonia and Opeth members – is set to release its fourth album of supreme death metal, Grand Morbid Funeral on November 18 through Peaceville Records. Following the departure of Opeth’s Mikael Åkerfeldt and months of speculation and rumor, Metal Hammer (U.K.) has revealed Paradise Lost’s Nick Holmes as the new vocalist of Bloodbath. (more…)

Swedish metal stalwarts In Flames released its 11th album, Siren Charms (review) today, and to accompany it they’ve released a brand new lyric video for “Everything’s Gone,” one of the many standouts on the record. Listen inside and go pick up the #1 metal album on iTunes today! (more…)

bloodbath-fathomlessSweden’s Bloodbath is an extreme metal supergroup that’s had a revolving lineup of the country’s elite death metal talent since forming in 1998. Previous members included vocalist Peter Tägtgren (Hypocrisy, Pain) and multi-instrumentalist Dan Swanö (Edge of Sanity, Nightingale, Pan.Thy.Monium). Tägtgren was responsible for the gut-wrenching vocals of Bloodbath’s last full-length recording, the seminal Nightmares Made Flesh (2005). The Fathomless Mastery marks the return of the project’s original vocalist, Opeth’s Mikael Åkerfeldt, who performed on the first release, 2002’s Resurrection Through Carnage. (He was also the vocalist on Katatonia’s Brave Murder Day and the Sounds of Decay EP) The current 2008 Bloodbath lineup is rounded out by guitarists Anders “Blakkheim” Nyström (Katatonia) and Per “Sodomizer” Eriksson (21 Lucifers), bassist Jonas Renkse (Katatonia) and drummer Martin “Axe” Axenrot (also of Opeth)..

The Fathomless Mastery follows the formula of the other two classic Bloodbath releases. The formula is simple: a devastating blend of old-school brutal death metal with an evil modernized twist, leaving nothing but carnage in the aftermath. (more…)