Posts Tagged ‘Napalm Records’


After tours around the globe, Kamelot will return to North American in April/May 2018 to support their upcoming release on Napalm Records. This tour and album is the follow-up to the band’s highest charting album worldwide Haven (#1 BILLBOARD HARD ROCK CHARTS). (more…)

The Agonist

The Agonist released their latest album and Napalm Records debut Five this past September. The record, which was met with global critical acclaim featured The Agonist’s own special take on the chart topping Hozier single “Take Me To Church”. Today the band is pleased to present the video for the song. Watch it inside! (more…)


German Epic Symphonic Metal stalwarts Xandria have found lineup stability with singer Dianne van Giersbergen and are ready to take things to the next level with their seventh studio album Theater of Dimensions. The album is a hyper-emotional affair that digs deep, lyrically speaking. It’s also an incredibly metallic effort. There is a soundtrack-like, orchestral finesse inherent to the compositions, echoed by pounding groove and sophisticated shredding. You can experience it for yourself with the brand new music video for the track “Call Of Destiny” inside! (more…)

Walls of Jericho

Eight years after The American Dream, Walls Of Jericho have found new allies in Napalm Records and released their latest and highly anticipated record (and Jeff’s #10 album of 2016No One Can Save You From Yourself (review) in 2016.

There`s definitely no space for soft nuances! The band centered around power fronter Candace is famous for maddening riffing, downbeats and HUGE breakdowns. Fans worldwide count on the unmatched aggression and integrity of Detroit`s daughter and sons – be it at their brutal live shows or on record!

Just in time for the European EMP Persistence tour together with Suicidal Tendencies and Agnostic Front to name just a few from this killer line-up, the band released a brand new music video for the track “Forever Militant”! Watch the video inside: (more…)

Life Of Agony

Reactivated Brooklyn hard rock legends Life Of Agony are hard at work on their new album and Napalm Records debut A Place Where There’s No More Pain.  Today the band has confirmed an April 28th release date and have debuted the album’s artwork.  The track listing along with pre-order options will be made available soon.

“We’re in the final stages of mixing the album with our producer and then we head into mastering sessions with Ted Jensen (Alice in Chains, Machine Head, Deftones) at Sterling Sound, NYC. This record is a monster and we’re so psyched to finally share it come April. It’s got such an energy to it. Raging guitar riffs, heartfelt lyrics and killer grooves. We definitely turned things up a few notches in 2017 and it feels great. And I gotta say, we’ve never been so focused as a band. Before we even wrote the first note, we all knew what kind of record we wanted to make. You can hear that drive and intensity in the tracks and you can feel the momentum building.” -Alan Robert, Life of Agony


walls-of-jericho_no-one-can-save-you-from-yourselfReview by Jeff Maki
I remember Walls of Jericho being part of the second or third tier of the New Wave of American Heavy Metal bands in the mid-2000s. The band even got a coveted slot on Ozzfest 2006. Though it is from Detroit, the band’s hardcore/metalcore style had it lumped in with the rest of this pack. Vocalist Candace Kucsulain was on a short list of females fronting hardcore bands and still is to this day.

No One Can Save You from Yourself is the band’s first release since 2008, the members passing their time pursuing other ventures. I had all but forgot about Walls of Jericho. (more…)

California groove metal band DevilDriver will unleash its seventh studio album, Trust No One, on May 13 via Napalm Records. Today, the band has revealed the tracklist and launched a pre-order for the new record.

Pre-order Trust No One at

Following the success of 2013’s Billboard Top 40 record Winter Kills, Devildriver spent the past three years writing and recording the new album. On the forthcoming record, the band teamed up with producer and previous collaborator Mark Lewis (Cannibal Corpse, Coal Chamber, Holy Grail) at Audio Hammer Studios. (more…)


Coal Chamber, 2015

I remember in 1997 reading an album review (in a magazine called Metal Maniacs, I think) of a hot nu-metal band on the rise called Coal Chamber. Of course, this was a review of the L.A. band’s debut Roadrunner Records album, which features now classics “Sway” (yes, the “roof is on fire” song); Coal Chamber’s signature track, “Loco” (with a riff that is is a sped up version of Korn’s “Blind”); and the silly, but heavy as hell “Big Truck.” At the time, nu-metal wasn’t only hot, it was the shit and the members of these bands knew it—just watch the interview snippet with Limp Bizkit guitarist Wes Borland on Metal Evolution. He says kids at the time were snatching up anything they could with the nu-metal sound and it was crazy. I’m not ashamed to admit I was one of them. So naturally, reading that review—which basically described Coal Chamber’s sound as “Korn Jr.” and dropped words like “rhyming” and “downtuned”—had me sold.

That album propelled the band into the nu-metal and metal spotlight, because this was one of the heavier and meaner bands that had come out of the scene until this point. Frontman Dez Fafara was a lunatic on the mic, and the band—guitarist Miguel Rascón, drummer Mike Cox and original bassist Rayna Foss—had a an unpredictable nature when you listened to its music. It was like music from a mental hospital. After the debut, Chamber Music, was released in 1999 and had a breakthrough hit with a cover of Peter Gabriel’s “Shock the Monkey” featuring Ozzy Osbourne. The band appeared on MTV (back when it still played videos), toured on Ozzfests and was one of the bigger, more recognizable metal bands during that short period. Dark Days was released in 2002, and then it all came to an end with inner turmoil breaking the band apart, members being fired and not speaking to each other for years. Dez went on to form DevilDriver, while the other members—well, I’m not entirely sure what the other members did.

But time heals all wounds, and in 2011, Coal Chamber reformed, playing the Soundwave festival in Australia, Download and other festivals in 2013, and then touring with Sevendust and Lacuna Coil the same year. And they said they were “taking the reunion slow.”

Now in 2015, the band has emerged with the hard-hitting, self-described “nasty” Rivals (May 19, Napalm Records), its first studio album in 13 years. With soon-to-be live staples like “I.O.U Nothing,” “Another Nail in the Coffin,” the Soulfly-like title track, along with “Suffer in Silence” (featuring Al Jourgensen of Ministry), Rivals is a strong and unexpected return. Just as the album was released, Live Metal’s Jeff Maki chatted with drummer Mikey Cox about the reunion and Coal Chamber history, and asked the question, “Why now?” (more…)